ABYC Announces New Board Members and Officers, Awards Presented

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – The American Boat & Yacht Council (ABYC) hosted its annual meeting in Seattle, Washington and announced the election of new members to the board of directors. The annual meeting included an awards presentation to recognize ABYC members who have provided exceptional service to the marine industry.

Joining the board of directors is Derek Rhymes from All Boats Marine Surveys and Lia Jaros from the Marine Trades Association of Maryland. Joining the executive board in the position of secretary is Christina Paul from K&L Gates.

"ABYC's efforts in industry education have had a great impact on workforce development nationwide and that impact is tracked to increase," said Jaros. "I look forward to providing onthe-ground insight to the decision-making process and working alongside some of the most dedicated leaders in the industry."

"I first became aware of The American Boat and Yacht Council and the standards which they develop over 30 years ago," said Rhymes. "I have been witness to the amazing growth in the organization's role as a global industry leader and it's an honor to be part of such as dynamic group of people dedicated to improving boating safety, including the professional staff at ABYC and the multitude of volunteers from within the industry."

Elected officers to the board of directors include:

- · Ward Eshleman, Ward's Marine Electric, Inc. Chair
- · Nancy Cueroni, National Marine Distributors Association Vice Chair
- · Jeff Wasil, BRP Treasurer
- · Pete Chisholm, Mercury Marine Technical Chair
- · Kenneth Weinbrecht, Ocean-Bay Maine Services Past Chair

Awards were also presented during ABYC's annual meeting.

ABYC Lifetime Service Award – Awarded to William Drake and Arthur J. "Bret" Bretnall, Jr.

For lifelong service to the marine industry and profound contributions to boating safety and the advancement of recreational boating.

ABYC Service Award - Awarded to Richard Kolb and Denzil Hellesen

For conspicuous service through active participation on committees and boards that materially benefits the goals of ABYC.

ABYC Horizon Award - Awarded to Thomas Marhevko

In recognition of consistent and conspicuous contributions to the future success and growth of ABYC and the recreational marine industry.

Bolling Fortson Douglas Memorial Award - Awarded to Belinda Emerson

This award was established to recognize a female ABYC member who best exemplifies dedication to the marine industry with the advancement of safety, education and standards in recreational boating.

For more information about ABYC and to see full list of ABYC board members, visit www.abycinc.org.